Employment | Advertise | Grants | Press | Newsletter

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Piazzolla & Prokofiev : 2 November

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Piazzolla & Prokofiev : 2 November

Rhythmically charged and inventive, Piazzolla composed the movements of his Four Seasons of Buenos Aires between 1965 and 1970. They epitomise his distinct style: a fusion of his beloved traditional tango with classical techniques learned studying in Paris with Nadia Boulanger. But alongside the fiery dances lies surprising tenderness – Winter recedes with a gentle melody fading to silence.

In the evening programme from 6pm, the Philharmonia performs works from a century earlier in a programme of Beethoven, Tchaikovsky and Brahms.

This concert is part of the Philharmonia Chamber Players series

More events in this series | More events on this day

Zsolt-Tihamér Visontay violin
Fabrizio Falasca violin
Adrián Varela violin
Jan Regulski violin
Gijs Kramers viola
Ella Rundle cello
Gareth Sheppard bass
Julian Rowlands bandoneon
PROKOFIEV Sonata for two violins, Op. 56
PIAZZOLLA Estaciones Porteñas
In a programme spanning two continents, classical influences inspire works by two giants of music.

Prokofiev, remarked in his biography that once, after hearing an ‘unsuccessful’ piece for two violins, ‘it struck me that in spite of the apparent limitations of such a duet one could make it interesting enough to listen to for ten or fifteen minutes’. Built from a Baroque form popularised by Corelli, his response unites virtuosic violin writing with moments of exquisite sweetness.


Current Comments

No Comments have yet been Added

Add Comment