Employment | Advertise | Grants | Press | Newsletter

FILM: \'No\', Gael Garcia Bernal + Q&A. 31 Jan - 28 Feb 2013

FILM: 'No', Gael Garcia Bernal + Q&A. 31 Jan - 28 Feb 2013

The third in Pablo Larraín’s acclaimed dramas that detail the Pinochet regime’s profound impact on Chilean society is an optimistic look to a future country free of the shackles of fascism. Gael García Bernal, who also co-produced, plays an advertising executive employed to forge the campaign against Pinochet’s re-election at the 1988 elections. Like Ben Affleck’s recent Argo, No presents history as a bracing political thriller. 

Bernal is a cynical young advertising executive, Rene Saavedra, who is asked to spearhead the ‘No’ campaign for those opposing the Pinochet regime to bring democracy to Chile. With scant resources, constant scrutiny from individuals sympathetic to Pinochet’s totalitarian regime including ad agency colleagues and the secret police, this bold, enthralling film looks at how a team of Chile’s ‘Mad Men’ and opponents of the dictatorial regime instigated change. Seamlessly blending scripted scenes with archive footage, No is a compelling period piece which made it one of the most talked about films at the BFI London Film Festival in 2012.

Two sets of screenings:

Firstly, the UK premiere @ Curzon Cinemas + Q&A with Gael García Bernal on 31 January at 6.20pm. Actor and producer Bernal will join us for a post-screening discussion. BOOK HERE 

Secondly, a series of screenings Ciné Lumiére from 8 - 28 February. 17 Queensberry Place, London SW7 2DT. T: 020 7871 3515 /

Fri 08 Feb 6.15pm & 8.40pm BOOK HERE

Sat 09 Feb 6.30pm & 9.00pm BOOK HERE

Sun 10 Feb 4.20pm & 9.05pm BOOK HERE

Mon 11 Feb 6.15pm & 8.40pm BOOK HERE

Tue 12 Feb 8.40pm BOOK HERE

Wed 13 Feb 3.00pm 8.40pm BOOK HERE

Thu 14 Feb 3.00pm & 6.10pm BOOK HERE

Fri 15 Feb 3.00pm & 6.15pm BOOK HERE

Sat 16 Feb 6.10pm & 8.30pm BOOK HERE

Sun 17 Feb 6.20pm BOOK HERE

Mon 18 Feb 8.40pm BOOK HERE

Tue 19 Feb 8.40pm BOOK HERE

Wed 20 Feb 8.40pm BOOK HERE

Thu 21 Feb 6.15pm BOOK HERE

Sat 23 Feb 2.00pm & 8.50pm BOOK HERE

Sun 24 Feb 7.30pm BOOK HERE

Tue 26 Feb 6.15pm BOOK HERE

Wed 27 Feb 6.10pm BOOK HERE

Thu 28 Feb 6.10pm BOOK HERE

Current Comments

No Comments have yet been Added

Add Comment