Employment | Advertise | Grants | Press | Newsletter


Sketches of Mexico - Morgan Szymanski in Concert : 08/05/13

Sketches of Mexico - Morgan Szymanski in Concert : 08/05/13

A concert by solo-guitarist, Morgan Szymanski. The Sketches of Mexico Project is an exciting new collaboration curated by the multi-award winning Mexican guitarist Morgan Szymanski and Sarabande Records. The project intends to promote Mexican music and art in venues ranging from concert halls, art galleries, festivals and schools. The project focuses on the 20 Sketches of Mexico by Mexican composer Julio César Oliva for guitar, performed live alongside projections of twenty visual artists from Mexico and the U.K.
Oliva’s 20 Mexican Sketches were never intended as concert works, but rather as a stylistic and didactic collection for young guitarists to become acquainted with traditional Mexican rhythms and musical forms. However, this simplicity still manages to conjure wonderful images, ambiences, sounds and colours. Mexico’s distinct and varied geography is portrayed in a mixture of pre-hispanic, popular and modern sound worlds, taking the listener on a musical journey through famous and wonderful locations such as Acapulco, Oaxaca, Yucatán, Chiapas, Veracruz. Imagery is present in the music in homage to the Virgin of Guadalupe, the Grijalba River in Chiapas, the two famous volcanoes – Popocatépetl and Ixtaccíhuatl – the pyramids of Teotihuacan and the Aztec city of Tenochtitlan, now embraced by the sprawling capital, Mexico City.

See the website for more details: HERE

Current Comments

No Comments have yet been Added

Add Comment